Centre Val De Loire

Welcome to the Centre Val de Loire

Welcome to the Centre Val de Loire

Centre Val de Loire, the Vallée des Rois

Chateau d'Azay-le-Rideau in Centre Val de Loire region


Centre Val de Loire is one of 13 regions defined by the territorial reform that took effect on January 1, 2016.

It retained its original geographical boundaries, however, was known as Centre until January 17, 2015.

It includes 6 departments:

Cher (Bourges – 18), Eure-et-Loir (Chartres – 28), Indre (Châteauroux – 36), Indre-et-Loire (Tours – 37), Loir-et-Cher (Blois – 41) and Loiret (Orléans – 45)

Its prefecture is Orléans.

Centre Val de Loire is the 7th largest French region, the 1st cereal region of Europe and attracts 4% of the total population.

It is also the 6th industrial area in France and its local power stations generate 15% of French nuclear energy.

It regroups the three historical provinces of Berry, Orléanais and Touraine.

Finally, it boasts three regional natural parks: Brenne, Loire-Anjou and Perche.

By above all, it includes the Val de Loire, which was listed World Heritage by UNESCO.

This is indeed where the kings of the French Renaissance and their vassals built their magnificent chateaux.

Area: 39 151 km2
Population: 2,580 000 (01/01/2014)

Centre Val De Loire - Latest content

Loire Valley - Gabare

Loire Valley, the Royal Valley

The Loire Valley is also known as the Royal Valley because of the many chateaux the kings of the French Renaissance and their vassals built along the river
Chateau de Chinon - Tour de l'Horloge

Chateau de Chinon – Loire Valley – History

Chateau de Chinon, restored ruins of the fortress built by Henry II of England where Joan of Arc came to serve King Charles VII during the Hundred years War
Cycling along the Loire River

Cycling along the Loire River

The best cycling routes along the Loire River, a series of trails that follow the river from its spring in Auvergne downwards to its mouth in the Atlantic
Chateau de Villandry and gardens

Villandry Renaissance Chateau – Gardens

The Renaissance Chateau and gardens of Villandry in the Loire Valley, fully restored by Joachim Carvallo, and today registered as UNESCO's World Heritage

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter

Please note: We will not sell or distribute your email address to any third party.