Skip to content
ArabicChinese (Simplified)DutchEnglishFrenchGermanGreekHindiItalianJapanesePortugueseRussianSpanish

Pays de la Loire

Welcome to the Pays de la Loire

Welcome to the Pays de la Loire

Pays de la Loire in Western France

The Pays de la Loire is one of the 13 regions of Metropolitan France.

It includes 5 departments:
Loire-Atlantique (Nantes – 44), the western side of Maine-et-Loire (Angers – 49), Mayenne (Laval – 53), Sarthe (Le Mans – 72) and Vendée (La Roche-sur-Yon – 85)

It préfecture is Nantes.

The department of Loire Atlantique corresponds to the south part of the historical Duchy of Brittany.

Nantes, the former capital of the Dukes of Brittany, therefore boasts a rich cultural and architectural heritage.

The department of Vendée was originally known as Bas-Poitou and was part of the historical province of Poitou, which used to be part of the Duchy of Aquitaine.

Legend has it that Eleanor of Aquitaine, the only daughter of the Duke of Aquitaine, was born in the village of Nieul-sur-l’Autise.

Eleanor married Henry Plantagenet, the future Henry II of England, and brought him the southwest of France (and more) in her dowry.

She was at the origin of the rivalry that opposed French and English for generations.

Maine-et-Loire, Mayenne and Sarthe departments were created during the French Revolution.

The first corresponds to the historical province of Anjou, the other two to sections of Anjou and the historical province of Maine.

These two provinces were the property of the powerful dynasty of the Dukes of Anjou, the descendants of Henry Plantagenet.

They were also coveted by the neighbouring Dukes of Normandy and changed hand several times during the Middle-Ages.

Pays de la Loire is therefore a region that boasts a rich history.

It spreads on both banks of the river Loire; this translates in an interesting array of landscapes and climates.

You’ll therefore find several renowned seaside resorts and vineyards in Vendée, a region that benefits from an oceanic weather,

The historical cities of Nantes, Angers and their chateaux and the city of Le Mans attract many visitors, while rural Mayenne and Sarthe are known for their beautiful landscapes.

Area: 32,082 km²
Population: 3.658,000 (2013)

Poitevin Marsh waterway

Poitevin Marsh, the Green Venice

Poitevin Marsh, the second largest wetland in France, is known as Green Venice, a lush green marsh you discover by punts that gently glide on man-made waterways nestled under the tree canopies
Chateau de Commequiers

Chateau de Commequiers, demolished by order of King Louis XIII

Chateau de Commequiers, the fortress of the Protestant lords of La Tremoille was demolished by king Louis XIII at the end of the Wars of Religion
Moulin de Raire

Moulin de Rairé, a windmill in constant use since 1555

Moulin de Raire in Sallertaine, a windmill that has constantly turned and been exclusively powered by the force of the wind since its construction in 1555
Abbey church of Sallertaine

Sallertaine – A former island among the salt marshes

Saint-Martin de Sallertaine, an Angevin Romanesque Church and only vestige of the 12th century abbey founded on a former island in the Baie de Bourgneuf

Sign up to our newsletter

Travel France Online will use the information you provide on this form to keep in touch with you and to provide updates via our newsletter. By selecting the boxes on the form you confirm your acceptance to receive our newsletter.

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at

We will treat your information with respect. For more information please visit our privacy policy page