Occitanie Section

Aveyron department in Occitanie region

[wce_code id=1]

Aveyron, historic Rouergue

The Aveyron department replaces the historic province of Rouergue.

It is today part of Occitanie, one of the 13 new regions created with the territorial reform that took effect on January 1, 2016.

Aveyron is a  land of contrasts, a land of wild and varied landscapes.

Aveyron, a land of rock

The Grands Causses (Parc Naturel Regional des Grand Causses to the east of Millau) is a region of arid and semi-deserted plateaus.

There's no water on the high lands as the limestone absorbs rainfall like a sponge.

Scanty vegetation therefore adapted to dry summers and winter hoarfrost.

This dry land is dedicated to the breeding of Lacaune ewes, whose milk produces the renowned Roquefort cheese.

The spectacular canyons the tumultuous Tarn cuts through the Grand Causses are known as Gorges du Tarn.

The river, however, creates little pockets of greenery with picturesque medieval castles and villages, such as along the breathtaking Raspes du Tarn, to the west of Millau.

Millennia of river and rain erosion also produced strange heaps of dolomite rock, or chaos, as the locals call them.

Amazingly, water carved fairy-tale landscapes full of look-alike pillars, arches, ruins of ancient cities, human faces or imaginary animals…

Southern Aveyron is quite different as it is a land of red soil.

The Rougiers plateaus of Camarès are indeed saturated with iron oxide that gives them the colour of blood, the colour of life.

Green Aveyron

The north of the department is a greener region.

The crystalline rock of the Auvergne Mounts' foothills retained water and formed the Lévezou Lakes.

The green plateaus of Aubrac is a vast untamed land that stretches at an altitude of 1200-1400m and is essentially dedicated to cattle rearing.

Bastides and towns

The gentle rolling hills of the Ségala plateaus stretch to the north-west of Aveyron.

This is the land of bastides, fortified towns erected during the Middle-Ages and beautifully restored for the pleasure of all.

Aveyron's main city, Rodez, is the ancient capital of Rouergue.

The region boasts several major tourist landmarks such as Millau and its magnificent viaduct, the bastide of Villefranche de Rouergue, Laguiole the regional capital of cutlery or the Templar cities to name a few.

Finally, ten villages rank among the most beautiful villages in France!

Area: 8,735 km2
Population: 277,048

Your Comments
Chateau de Montal - Renaissance facades and seen from the formal garden

April 30 2019

Chateau de Montal, a Renaissance masterpiece in Quercy

Chateau de Montal, a Renaissance masterpiece built by a woman and returned to its past grandeur by the industrialist and patron of the arts Maurice Fenaille
Dolmen de Martignes in Beduer - Lot

April 26 2019

Dolmen de Martignes and Cloup de Coutze

Dolmen de Martignes and Dolmen du Cloup of Coutze, the most famous of the 12 dolmens listed in Beduer, a village of Quercy along St. James Way
Gouffre de Saint-Sauveur- Emeral waters of the resurgence of the river Ouysse

April 23 2019

Gouffre de Saint-Sauveur – Ouysse River’s resurgence

The Gouffre de Saint-Sauveur is a basin of emerald water nestled in the lush greenery where the river Ouysse resurfaces near the village of Calès in the Lot
Chateau des Anglais, also known as Chateau Fort de La Roque d'Autoire

April 19 2019

Chateau des Anglais or Chateau Fort de La Roque d’Autoire

Chateau des Anglais - Chateau Fort de La Roque d’Autoire, the troglodyte fort the lords of Turenne built at the border of the Auvergne and Toulouse counties
Translate »
Scroll to Top