Carreau du Temple, a former covered market
This enclave, commonly known as Quartier du Temple, was developed on the site of the Knights Templar fortified monastery.
The Carreau du Temple was a covered market built in 1811 on the site of the monastery’s keep.
In 1863, the architect Jules Merindhol replaced this first market hall with the current cast iron, brick and glass structure.
In 1904 the Carreau du Temple was chosen to host the first Foire de Paris, and was converted into a second hand clothing market after WWII.
The building accommodated about 1000 sellers when the trade was at its peak from the 1950s to 1970s.
Business, however, declined significantly in the 1980s; by then, fewer than 400 traders still worked in the Carreau du Temple.
This beautiful structure was nearly demolished to build a car park!
In 1982 the local residents association fortunately had the Carreau du Temple listed Historical Monument and saved it from the clutches of developers!
In 2001 the City of Paris took upon the restoration and conversion of the old covered market.
It also launched a competition in order to find the best architectural project.
In 2007, the Studio Milou was selected among 133 projects.
Carreau du Temple, a cultural venue
The metal structure was entirely gutted and restored to its original state.
The Carreau du Temple reopened in 2013 as a multipurpose cultural and exhibition centre licensed for 2800 visitors!
The ground-floor boasts a 250-seat auditorium and 1800m2 of multipurpose space; the first floor hosts trade and fashion shows and corporate events and the basement various sport and cultural facilities, including a recording studio.
Directions: 3rd district – Rue Eugène Spuller
Metro: Temple on Line 3
Coordinates: Lat 48.864304 – Long 2.361835