Les Arcades des Champs-Elysées – Origin
Les Arcades des Champs-Elysées is a luxury indoor shopping arcade.
It is on the ground floor of a beautiful building that connects the 76-78 Avenue des Champs-Elysées to Rue de Ponthieu.
Les Arcades des Champs-Elysées was built after 1924 when the diamond merchant and real estate developer Léonard Rosenthal purchased the Hôtel Dufayel.
Rosenthal commissioned the architects Charles Lefèbvre, Julien Marcel and Louis Duhayon to replace the mansion with the existing building.
Georges Dufayel, was the founder of the Grands Magasins Dufayel.
The department store was located at the foot of Montmartre and specialized in household furnishings.
Arcades des Champs-Elysées – Decorative features
The decoration of the 120m long by 15m wide shopping gallery is a mixture of Art Deco and neo-Classical styles.
Some decorative elements, including eight superb columns in grey granite from Scotland, were recovered from the Hôtel Dufayel and re-employed.
Eight columns of red granite were added and the walls covered with beige and black marble.
The rest of the decoration was left to the best craftsmen of the time.
The master blacksmith René Gobert created the wrought iron work.
As all covered galleries of Paris, the Arcades des Champs-Elysées is topped with a magnificent glass roof.
The master glass-maker Fernand Jacopozzi created the superb stained glass.
René Lalique created the light fittings and shades, and two fountains, which were alas removed; one is now in Tokyo, the second in the United States.
Les Arcades des Champs-Elysées was inaugurated on October 1, 1926, and were exclusively dedicated to luxury.
A traditional Paris café with a terrace and a bandstand initially stood in the centre of the gallery; the luxury boutiques spread over two floors.
The boutiques are still there, however, the café has left place to a modern establishment.
Arcades du Lido
Les Arcades des Champs-Elysées are also known as Arcades du Lido.
From 1928 to 1933 Le Lido was a luxury spa with beauty salon.
Hairdressers, massage parlour, sauna, showers and a heated swimming pool spread over 4,400 m2 in the basement.
It was named after its decoration based on Venice’s popular beach resort.
Despite its success, Le Lido closed down in 1933.
The show producer Léon Volterra bought the premises 3 years later; he replaced the pool with an auditorium and organized dinner-shows.
Joseph and Louis Clerico purchased Le Lido in 1946.
They turned it into a successful cabaret and burlesque entertainment known for its exotic shows with singers and various artists and dancers including the famous Bluebell Girls!
In 1977, Le Lido moved to larger premises at no116 Avenue des Champs-Elysées. Free access
Opening hours: Everyday – 7.30am to 11.30pm
Directions: 8th district – nos76-78 Avenue des Champs-Élysées – no59 rue de Ponthieu
Metro: George V, Franklin-Roosevelt on Line 1
Coordinates: Lat 48.870960 – Long 2.304452