Saint-Philippe-du-Roule Church built by Chalgrin and Godde
Saint-Philippe-du-Roule Church was built in the 1770-80s to replace Saint-Philippe-Saint-Jacques, a chapel dedicated to the patron saints of the minters.
This chapel was attached to the hospital built by the Mint Corporation and demolished in the 16th century.
It was kept to serve the local community, but was eventually pulled down in 1739, leaving the district without parish church.
Louis XV therefore commissioned the architect Chalgrin with the design of a new church.
Prestigious architects and artists contributed to the construction and decoration of Saint-Philippe-du-Roule Church.
The building strikes by its Neoclassical elegance and sobriety, a style so dear to Chalgrin!
It indeed boasts a barrel vault supported by a double row of Ionic columns that caps the impressive nave which ends with a semi-circular apse.
Godde took over after Chalgrin’s death.
He enlarged the church in 1845 and added a walkway supported with additional row of Ionic columns identical to those built by Chalgrin and sculpted by Francois Duret.
He also built the Chapelle de la Vierge in 1851.
Claude Jacquand created the murals that depict the Life of Sainte-Mary; Charles Nanteuil sculpted the marble statue of Mary and Baby Jesus.
Finally, the painter Chassériau decorated the chancel with a superb Descent from the Cross (1855).
Saint-Philippe-du-Roule Church is not the most famous church of Paris, however, is definitively worth the detour!
The old Roule village
Saint-Philippe-du-Roule is located at the western end of the prestigious Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré.
The street replaces the muddy path that once led from the fortified Porte Saint-Honoré to the village of Roule.
Rolus developed during the Middle Ages, outside the city walls, and later split in two separate communities.
Haut-Roule spread around the long gone Château des Ternes.
Bas-Roule grew in the vicinity of the leper hospital Hôtel du Bas-Roule built by the Mint Corporation of Paris.
Le Roule became a faubourg (suburb) of Paris in 1822 and was integrated within the city’s new boundaries in 1860.
It’s now part of one of the most affluent districts of Paris.
Directions: 8th District – Place Chassaigne-Goyon – No.154 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré
Metro: St-Philippe-du-Roule on Line 1
Coordinates Saint-Philippe-du-Roule Church: Lat 48.873269 – Long 2.310732