Odeon Theatre de l’Europe district
The Odeon Theatre de l’Europe is tucked away on the north side of the Luxembourg Palace.
The elegant Classical building is supported with columns and framed with arcades.
It faces the semi-circular Place de l’Odeon and its four concave buildings.
Both the theatre and the square were developed in 1782 on the gardens of the Hôtel de Condé.
The streets that lead to the square were all named after a renowned playwright:
Rue Corneille, Rue Racine, Rue Casimir Delavigne, Rue Créillon, Rue Regnard and Rue Retrou.
A theatre of many names
The Odeon Theatre de l’Europe has a long history!
It was originally known as Théâtre Français.
It was renamed Théâtre de la Nation in 1789 and Théâtre Egalité in 1793; it closed but re-opened in 1797 as Théâtre de l’Odéon.
A well chosen name as the Greek word Odeon indeed means place where one sings.
But the Odeon burned!
It was rebuilt in 1808 and renamed Théâtre de l’Impératrice but burned once more.
It re-opened in 1819 as Théâtre Français, a name it amazingly kept until 1946.
It was then attached to the prestigious Comédie Française and renamed Salle Luxembourg; then Théâtre de France in 1959.
It eventually gained its independent statute in 1971 as Théâtre de l’Odéon.
It was, however, placed twice under the tutelage of the Comédie Française during that period.
The Odeon Theatre de l’Europe has been fully independent since 1990.
It produces an extensive range of avant-garde and foreign shows.
And…it has not changed name since!
Directions: 6th District
Metro: Odéon on Lines 4, 10
Coordinates: Lat 48.849742 – Long 2.338720