Pont de Sully replaced two footbridges
The Pont de Sully is one of the few cast iron bridges still existing in Paris!
This double bridge connects the Ile Saint-Louis to the two banks.
It crosses the eastern tip of the island along the small public garden Square Barye.
The Pont de Sully replaces two footbridges that were opened to traffic in 1838.
The Passerelle Constantine connected the Ile Saint-Louis to the Right Bank.
However, it collapsed in 1872 due to the corrosion of its cables.
The Passerelle Damiette connected the island to the Left Bank.
It was destroyed during the Revolution of 1848.
Pont de Sully – Ile Saint-Louis
The engineers Vaudrey and Brosselin built the Pont de Sully between 1874 and 1877.
Its construction was part of the renovation of Paris led by the prefect of Paris Haussmann.
It was opened to traffic on August 25, 1877.
A 93m long by 20m wide three-arch section spans the small arm of the Seine on the northern side of the Ile St-Louis.
It links the Quai d’Anjou to the Quai Henri IV and Quai des Célestins on the Right Bank.
Two 15m long masonry arches frame its 42m long central arch.
The second section of the bridge spans the Seine’s widest arm on the southern side.
It indeed links the Quai de Béthune to the Quai de la Tournelle on the Left Bank.
This three-arch section is 163m long by 20m wide.
The bridge was named after Maximilien de Béthune, Duke of Sully.
Sully was the minister of Henri IV from 1596 to the assassination of the king in 1610.
Metro: Sully-Morland on Line 7
Coordinates: Lat 48.849748 – Long 2.358123