Palais de Chaillot on Place Trocadéro

Esplanade des Droits de l’Homme – Palais de Chaillot

The architects Boileau, Carlu, and Azema collaborated on the design of the Palais de Chaillot in the late 1930s.

Palais de Chaillot - Verses of Paul Valery on pediment
Verses of Paul Valery on pediment

This remarkable Art Deco building boasts two semicircular wings which frame a vast terrace, the Esplanade des Droits de l’Homme (Human Rights Esplanade).

This terrace overlooks the Trocadéro Gardens, which extend to the banks of the Seine, and boasts exceptional panoramic views of the Eiffel Tower and the Rive Gauche (Left Bank).

The Esplanade des Droits de l’Homme commemorates the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, a historic document adopted by the United Nations General Assembly at the Palais de Chaillot on December 10, 1948. Magnificent sculptures, such as “La Pensée” (Thought) by Delamarre and “Les Éléments” (The Elements) by Carlo Sarrabezolles, adorn this terrace.

Two imposing bronze statues, “Hercules Slaying the Cretan Bull” by Albert Pommier and “Apollo Magetes” by Henri Bouchard, flank the wings of the palace, whose pediments are inscribed with verses by the Paul Valery French poet Paul Valéry.

Fontaine de Varsovie and Palais de Chaillot
Fontaine de Varsovie and Palais de Chaillot

The Musée National de la Marine (National Maritime Museum) and the Musée de l’Homme (Museum of Man), which is dedicated to ethnology, are located in the south wing of the building.

The majestic Palais de Chaillot replaced the Palais du Trocadéro, which had been designed by the architect Davioud in a Moorish style for the 1878 Universal Exposition.

Its name commemorated the victorious capture of the Andalusian fortress in the Bay of Cádiz.

The Palais du Trocadéro served as a prestigious venue for international summits, and played an important role until the 1937 International Exhibition of Arts and Technique in Modern Life of 1937.

Colline de Chaillot and old village

Palais de Chaillot seen from the Eiffel Tower
Palais de Chaillot seen from the Eiffel Tower

The hill and its surroundings remained rural and were located within the territory of the commune of Nimio, which encompassed several hamlets and two important villages situated between the Seine and the present-day Place Charles de Gaulle-Étoile.

In the 15th century, Nimio was divided into two to create Autolium, which became Auteuil, and Calcium, which later became Chaillot.

Chaillot developed on the chalky northern slope of the hill (hence its name), amidst vineyards, gardens, and fields, and was annexed to the city of Paris in 1659, and became a district in 1787.

Palais de Chaillot - Monumental sculptures by Fontaine de Varsovie
Monumental sculptures by Fontaine de Varsovie

The centre of the village of Chaillot became known as the Faubourg de la Conférence after the construction of the Porte de la Conférence, a toll gate located on the Mur des Fermiers Généraux (Wall of the Farmers General).

However, despite its proximity to the city centre, Chaillot remained somewhat isolated, but its accessibility made it a highly desirable location.

All changed when the abbeys and monasteries that had been established in the village in previous centuries were demolished during the French Revolution, creating new plots for construction.

Jardins du Trocadéro

Palais de Chaillot - Bull head and deer statues on Fontaine de Varsovie
Bull head and deer statues on Fontaine de Varsovie

The Colline de Chaillot retains no trace of its rural past, having undergone a remarkable transformation from rocky terrain to a magnificent public garden.

Landscape architect Roger-Henri Expert spearheaded this metamorphosis in 1937, transforming the gardens created by Alphand for the 1878 Universal Exhibition.

He preserved the romantic charm of the paths but replaced the original central fountain with the Fontaine de Varsovie – Warsaw Fountain.

A superb example of Art Deco architecture, the Warsaw Fountain is simply breathtaking. It indeed boasts eight basins that gracefully cascade into one another, each adorned with 56 water spouts, creating a spectacular display of water and light.

The fountain is also surrounded by magnificent sculptural groups: “The Joy of Living” by Léon Drivier and “Youth” by Pierre-Marie Poisson.

Palais de Chaillot - North wing and base of the Esplanade
North wing and base of the Esplanade

The Trocadéro Gardens and the paths are also adorned with a wealth of gilded bronze and stone sculptures created by renowned artists.

You can thus admire the amazing Dog’s Head and two Horse Heads by the sculptor Pierre Guyot, and a Stag’s Head and a Bull’s Head by the sculptor Paul Jouve.

The statues of a Rhinoceros and an Elephant that once adorned the gardens were transferred to the esplanade of the Orsay Museum in 1986. While strolling through the gardens, you will also find numerous benches where you can pause and soak up the peaceful atmosphere while admiring the iconic Eiffel Tower.

Directions: 16th district
Metro: Trocadéro on Lines 6,9
Coordinates: Lat 48.862368 – Long 2.288093

Paris – Ile De France – Latest content