Nouvelle Aquitaine Section
Chateau de Boussac – Lady with the Unicorn tapestry
Chateau de Boussac, a medieval fortess
Its impressive silhouette overlooks La Petite Creuse, a tributary of the river Creuse.
Jean de Brosse built the Chateau de Boussac in the 14th century to replace the fortress the English destroyed during the Hundred Years War.
The castle was partially destroyed during the French Revolution.
The keep, fortifications, the portal and the towers' crenelated roofs were pulled down.
The main building, however, escaped the dismantling!
The arms of the Brosse Family also escaped destruction and are still visible on the lintel of the main entrance.
What remains of the Chateau de Boussac is quite impressive!
The massive rectangular building is flanked by a large round tower, two square towers and a three-side staircase tower.
It was partly rebuilt in the 18th century.
It has, however, retained many 15th century Flamboyant architectural features, such as the stunning roof windows and the two fireplaces in the Guardroom.
Those were classified Historical Monuments under the label 'objects' in 1998.
The village of Boussac bought the Chateau de Boussac in 1833.
The department of Creuse purchased it in turn in 1838 to house the sub-prefecture of Boussac.
Lady and the Unicorn Tapestry in the Chateau de Boussac
A unique event brought fame to the Chateau de Boussac in the years that followed.
Indeed, the writer George Sand and the Inspector-General of Historical Monuments Prosper Mérimée discovered the Lady and the Unicorn tapestry in the castle.
The 18th century paneling coating of the room, where George Sand slept during her recurrent sojourns, was also classified Historical Monument under the label 'object' in 1998.
The industrialist, Mr. Blondeau, acquired the Chateau de Boussac in 1965.
He also owns the tapestry Manufacture Saint-Jean in Aubusson.
The castle thus serves as an exhibition hall for many prestigious Aubusson tapestries designed by Jean Lurçat, Jean Picart le Doux and Dom Robert.
The Chateau de Boussac was classified Historical Monument in 1930.
Department of Creuse - Limousin region
Coordinates: Lat 46.347965 - Long 2.211079