Brittany Section

Rue de L'Horloge - Historic Dinan - Brittany

[wce_code id=1]

Tour de l'Horloge in Rue de l'Horloge

Rue de l'Horloge is one of the major streets in the historic walled city of Dinan.

Exceptional buildings, many listed Historical Monument, line this street named after the Tour de l'Horloge.

Queen Anne de Bretagne commissioned the construction of the 40m high square tower.

The Tour de l'Horloge housed the Maison de la Ville or town-hall of Dinan until the French Revolution.

Hamzler, the renowned master-watchmaker from Nantes, created the clock (horloge) in 1498.

The bell dates from 1507 and was named after Ann of Brittany.

The tower's 158 steps lead up to a platform that boasts prime views of  Dinan and surrounding countryside.

The Tour de l'Horloge is a listed Historical Monument.

Maison du Gisant

The recumbent statue (gisant) placed on the pavement, under the pillars of the Maison du Gisant at no13, is one of the unusual features in Rue de l'Horloge

The facade and roof of this 17th century building, located next to the tower, are listed Historical Monuments.

The 14th century recumbent statue of a Knight was discovered in the building's basement during restoration work.

The house had no particular name, and therefore became named after the statue!

Maison du Gisant

Hôtel de Kératry

The Maison Kératry - Hôtel de Kératry is another exceptional building.

Three granite pillars support the half-timbered mansion which was built in 1559 in the town of Lanvollon.

The city of Dinan acquired it in 1938 and rebuilt it stone by stone by the Théâtre des Jacobins.

The mansion is now home to the Maison de la Harpe - it once housed the Tourist Office of Dinan, which is now by the Château de Dinan.

The Hôtel de Kératry is a listed Historical Monument.

Théâtre des Jacobins

The Lords of Lanvallay built the Couvent des Jacobins in 1224.

The chapel was decommissioned during the French Revolution.

However, it escaped demolition and was recently restored and converted into a hotel.

The former monastic buildings, at the corner of Rue de l'Horloge and Rue Pavie, now house the Théâtre des Jacobins.

The Lords of Lanvallay were a junior branch of the Lords of Dinan.

They were therefore all buried in Saint-Sauveur Basilica, except for Guillaume de Lanvallay who left for England during the 12th century.

His grave and recumbent statue are in the church of Walkern, North London.

Department of Côtes d'Armor
Coordinates: Lat 48.453214 - Long -2.043344

Your Comments
Lehon village hall

November 2 2019

Lehon, a small town of character

Brittany Section Lehon, small town of character [wce_code id=1] Lehon, a strategic location Lehon developed in the 9th century around the Benedictine Abbey of St. Magloire, on the banks of the small river Rance. It spread at the foot of a promontory where the lords of Dinan built a castle in 1034. Lehon fortress defended […]
Kerascoet thatched cottages in Nevez

November 1 2017

Nevez, from Anse de Poulguin to Port Manech

Nevez, a picturesque rural district located by the mouth of the Aven, boasts many tourist spots such as Kerascoet village, Hénan tide mill and Port Manech
Early morning in Pont-Aven

November 1 2017

Pont-Aven, Gauguin and La Cité des Artistes

Pont-Aven, a small seaport nestled in the Aven estuary and worldwide known for the School of Pont-Aven, an artistic group founded by the painter Gauguin
La Pointe du Grouin - Ile des Landes, Chenal de la Vieille Rivière and lighthouse

June 14 2017

Pointe du Grouin, a rocky spur south of the Baie du Mont Saint-Michel

La Pointe du Grouin, a rocky spur and protected natural site on the Emerald Coast in Brittany, marks the south boundary of the Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
Translate »
Scroll to Top