An unnamed bridge!
The Pont Louis-Philippe connects Quai Bourbon on the Ile St Louis to Quai de l’Hôtel de Ville on the Right Bank.
King Louis-Philippe laid the first stone of a wooden suspension bridge on July 29, 1833.
This event took place during the festivities that marked his accession to the throne after the Revolution of 1830.
Amazingly, this suspension bridge didn’t have a name to start with!
It was built by the architects Séguin Brothers.
It also spanned the Seine a short distance downstream from the existing Pont Louis-Philippe.
It indeed connected the Quai des Fleurs on the Ile de la Cité to the Quai de l’Hôtel de Ville on the Right Bank via the Ile St-Louis.
This unnamed bridge was opened to traffic on July 26, 1834.
It was burned during the Revolution of 1848, but was fully restored.
It was eventually named Pont de la Réforme, a name it kept until 1852.
Pont Louis-Philippe – Ile Saint-Louis
The current bridge replaced the Pont de la Réforme in 1860.
However, the engineers Romany and Savarin built it slightly upstream from the Pont de la Réforme, to directly connect the Ile St Louis to the Right Bank.
The bridge was opened to traffic in August 1862.
The three-arch bridge is 100m long and 15m wide.
The central arch is 32m long, the other two are 30m long.
The piles are sculpted with foliage wreaths surrounding a central metal rosettes.
The bridge leads into the Rue du Pont Louis-Philippe.
This street was opened a few months after the bridge.
Metro: Pont-Marie on Line 7
Coordinates: Lat 48.853754 – Long 2.354315