Paris - Ile De France Section

Pont d'Arcole - Paris bridge - Facts

[wce_code id=1]

Passerelle de Grève

The Pont d'Arcole connects the Ile de la Cité to the Quai de Gesvres and Quai de l'Hôtel-de-Ville on the Right Bank.

It replaces a 6m wide cast iron suspension footbridge.

This footbridge had been built by a royal decree of December 6, 1827.

It linked the busy Place de l’Hôtel-de-Ville to the equally active Ile de la Cité.

The Passerelle de Grève was originally named after the Place de Grève (the original name of the Place de l'Hôtel-de-Ville).

It was opened to pedestrian traffic on December 21, 1828.

Pont d'Arcole, the first wrought iron bridge

Many mistakenly think that it was renamed to commemorate the Battle of Arcole.

It was in fact renamed to honour the memory of a young man named Arcole.

Arcole died while planting a tricolour flag on the bridge during the Revolution of July 1830.

Witnesses reported that as he was shot by the soldiers he cried:

"Rappelez-vous que je m'appelle Arcole"- 'Remember my name is Arcole'.

The Pont d'Arcole was demolished and rebuilt following an imperial decree of 31 August 1854 to relieve the excess traffic that resulted from the opening of Rue de Rivoli.

It was rebuilt within a period of three months from the drawings of the engineers Alphonse Oudry and Nicolas Cadiat.

Two stone abutments frame the 80m long by 20m wide single-arch bridge.

The Pont d'Arcole was indeed the first bridge to be built without a support pile.

It was also the first to be entirely built with wrought iron rather than cast iron.

The bridge was fully restored, repaired and repainted between 1994 and 95.
revised in 2012 to reduce its energy consumption by 90%.

Metro: Hôtel-de-Ville on Lines 1 and 11
Coordinates: Lat 48.855099 - Long 2.350441

Photos Wikimedia Commons: Bridge and Hotel de Ville
Town-hall of Auvers-sur-Oise by Van Gogh

August 8 2020

Auvers-sur-Oise, Van Gogh’s last place of residence

The small town of Auvers-sur-Oise, north of Paris, was once a quiet village where Van Gogh spent the last 70 days of his life and painted 78 canvases
Chateau de Raray, a superb illustration of French Classical

August 1 2020

Chateau de Raray, the setting for Cocteau’s Beauty and the Beast movie

The elegant Classical Chateau de Raray, north of Paris, served as setting for the filming of Cocteau's movie Beauty and the Beast
Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel in Milly la Foret

July 23 2020

Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel, Jean Cocteau’s burial-place

The poet Jean Cocteau is buried in Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel in Milly-la-Forêt, a chapel he decorated during the restoration work of 1959
Richelieu mausoleum in front of high altar in Sorbonne Chapel

June 5 2020

Sorbonne Chapel and Cardinal de Richelieu tomb

Sorbonne chapel, the college’s private chapel, is a masterpiece of French classical architecture that houses Cardinal Richelieu’s mausoleum
Translate »
Scroll to Top