Paris - Ile De France Section

Petit Pont – Paris bridge – Historical facts

[wce_code id=1]

Petit Pont, the oldest bridge in Paris

The Petit Pont connects the Ile de la Cité to the Left Bank and is one of the two oldest bridges of Paris!

The Celtic tribe Parisii built their fortress Lutetia on the island in the 3rd century BC and connected it to the mainland with two wooden footbridges.

The Romans conquered France in 52BC and made Lutetia the centre of their northern power and administration.

They redeveloped the island and replaced the footbridges with wooden bridges.

They named one Petit Pont (small bridge) as it spanned the narrowest arm of the Seine, and the second Grand Pont (big bridge - current Pont Notre-Dame) as it spanned the widest.

They also aligned them with their Cardo, the main north-south axis that today corresponds to Rue Saint-Jacques and Rue Saint-Martin.

These two wooden bridges remained for generations the only links between the island and the left and right banks.

River floods repeatedly destroyed the Petit Pont between the 9th and 18th century.

However, it was systematically rebuilt on the same spot and has retained its original name!

The stone bridge

The first stone bridge was built in 1175 at the initiative of Maurice Sully, the bishop of Paris and builder of Notre-Dame Cathedral.

The exceptional floods of 1393 blew it away, but a new three-arch stone bridge was built with funds raised with a tax imposed on the Jewish community of Paris.

The floods of 1408 destroyed it.

Construction of a new bridge with two rows of houses started a year later, but work dragged until 1416 due to lack of funds.

Recurrent floods damaged the Petit Pont in 1649, 1651, 1658, and 1659, when a new stone bridge on wooden pillars was built.

Disaster stroke once more in 1718, as the bridge burned when a barge loaded of hay came accidentally crashing on its pillars.

It was rebuilt in 1719, but this time without houses.

The engineer Ernest Gariel built the current single-arch bridge (32m long by 20m wide) on plans drawn by the architect Alexandre Michal.

The Petit-Pont was open to traffic in 1853; it's not one of the most attractive in Paris, but without any doubt the most historical.

Metro: St-Michel or Cité on Line 4
Coordinates: Lat 48.853294 - Long 2.347025

Town-hall of Auvers-sur-Oise by Van Gogh

August 8 2020

Auvers-sur-Oise, Van Gogh’s last place of residence

The small town of Auvers-sur-Oise, north of Paris, was once a quiet village where Van Gogh spent the last 70 days of his life and painted 78 canvases
Chateau de Raray, a superb illustration of French Classical

August 1 2020

Chateau de Raray, the setting for Cocteau’s Beauty and the Beast movie

The elegant Classical Chateau de Raray, north of Paris, served as setting for the filming of Cocteau's movie Beauty and the Beast
Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel in Milly la Foret

July 23 2020

Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel, Jean Cocteau’s burial-place

The poet Jean Cocteau is buried in Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel in Milly-la-Forêt, a chapel he decorated during the restoration work of 1959
Richelieu mausoleum in front of high altar in Sorbonne Chapel

June 5 2020

Sorbonne Chapel and Cardinal de Richelieu tomb

Sorbonne chapel, the college’s private chapel, is a masterpiece of French classical architecture that houses Cardinal Richelieu’s mausoleum
Translate »
Scroll to Top