Montlaur village - Rougier de Camares

This page was updated on: Sunday, December 10, 2017 at: 4:33 pm

Montlaur, inhabited since ancient times

Montlaur is located in the heart of the fertile Dourdou Valley in the Rougier de Camares, a stone's throw from the Chateau de Montaigut.

This village might be small but its prime location attracted men since the Neolithic.

Indeed, the many archaeological finds attest that it has been inhabited without interruption since that period!

Statues-menhirs, but also several Roman villas, countless fragments of sigillated potteries produced in the nearby Gaufresenque and sarcophagi from the early Middle-Ages were indeed discovered.

A small village with a long history

The Chateau de Montlaur was built in the 12th century and depended from the fiefdom of the lords of Caylus of St. Affrique.

In 1620, Countess Jeanne Levy bequeathed the castle's old tower in order to erect a parish church.

The castle made history in January 1669 during the Bataille de Montlaur.

This battle took place during the Hundred Years War when the region was under English occupation.

The French troops of the Count of Vendôme recovered the Rougier of Camares.

Thomas Wetechale and his men counter-attacked in September but suffered a severe defeat.

Watechale was indeed seriously wounded; he died in the castle and was buried in the parish church.

Then came the Wars of Religion of the 16th century; the Protestant troops seized and sacked Montlaur!

The Chateau de Montlaur survived the conflict, but was destroyed a century later during the French Revolution.

All that is left are a ground floor vaulted room and the base of the 12th/13th century chimney, and a mullioned window and a wall on the 1st floor!

Closer to us in time, the church served as a shelter for the political refugees during the Spanish Civil War of 1936-37.

So much history for this picturesque village!

As you drive along, you'll notice the attractive red sandstone bridge built in 1860 to span the Dourdou.

The picnic area, at the base, boasts spectacular views of the bridge and the village.

Department of Aveyron
Coordinates: Lat 43.879171 - long 2.834124

La Capelle Balaguier Templar Cross

La Capelle Balaguier Templar Cross – Quercy

La Capelle Balaguier Templar Cross, an enigmatic stone Cross initially erected in a nearby village and moved to its current location in Aveyron in 1811
Spectacular canyons in Gorges de la Jonte

Gorges de la Jonte – canyons – Aveyron – Lozere

The spectacular canyons known as Gorges de la Jonte traverse the Grands Causses Regional Nature Park and delineate the Aveyron and Lozere departments
Violet of Toulouse

Violet of Toulouse, a fragrant flower from Parma

The Violet of Toulouse was imported from the Italian city of Parma in the middle of the 19th century and is today the official emblem of the capital of the Occitanie region
Barbican in Peyrousse-le-Roc

Peyrusse-le-Roc medieval village – Aveyron

Peyrusse-le-Roc, a stunning ruined medieval village that once was a thriving mining city and one of the most important bailiwicks of the historical Rouergue

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter

Please note: We will not sell or distribute your email address to any third party.