Paris - Ile De France Section

Legion of Honour Museum - Hotel de Salm Paris

[wce_code id=1]

Hôtel de Salm

The Legion of Honour Museum is next door the Orsay Museum, so no excuse for not visiting it!

You won't be disappointed as the museum was founded in the beautiful Hôtel de Salm, which is considered as a fine illustration of Classical architecture.

In 1872, the German Prince de Salm commissioned the architect Rousseau with the construction of the mansion.

Napoleon I acquired it in 1802 to transfer the  collections of La Grande Chancellerie de la Légion d'Honneur which he had just founded.

The Hôtel de Salm was ready in 1804 and Napoleon inaugurated his museum.

Legion of Honour Museum

This museum became our Legion of Honour Museum.

The interior of the building sadly burned  during the Paris Commune of 1871, but was reproduced to the identical in 1878.

The outside fortunately escaped the flames.

It is therefore adorned with its original low reliefs dating from 1872.

An elegant rotunda enhances the architecture of the riverside facade.

The Legion of Honour Museum had two entrances.

A monumental triumphal arch on Rue de Lille leads into the Cour d'Honneur.

The public entrance, however, is located in Rue de Bellechasse, opposite Orsay.

The unusual museum traces the history of the Legion of Honour through extensive collections.

These include French uniforms, military decorations, manuscripts and paintings, but also a large array of collections of foreign orders to name a few.

Definitively a museum to visit!

Directions: 7th District - No.2 Rue de Bellechasse
Metro: Solférino on Line 12 - RER C: Musée d'Orsay
Coordinates: Lat 48.860298 - Long 2.324680

Your Comments
Town-hall of Auvers-sur-Oise by Van Gogh

August 8 2020

Auvers-sur-Oise, Van Gogh’s last place of residence

The small town of Auvers-sur-Oise, north of Paris, was once a quiet village where Van Gogh spent the last 70 days of his life and painted 78 canvases
Chateau de Raray, a superb illustration of French Classical

August 1 2020

Chateau de Raray, the setting for Cocteau’s Beauty and the Beast movie

The elegant Classical Chateau de Raray, north of Paris, served as setting for the filming of Cocteau's movie Beauty and the Beast
Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel in Milly la Foret

July 23 2020

Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel, Jean Cocteau’s burial-place

The poet Jean Cocteau is buried in Saint-Blaise-des-Simples Chapel in Milly-la-Forêt, a chapel he decorated during the restoration work of 1959
Richelieu mausoleum in front of high altar in Sorbonne Chapel

June 5 2020

Sorbonne Chapel and Cardinal de Richelieu tomb

Sorbonne chapel, the college’s private chapel, is a masterpiece of French classical architecture that houses Cardinal Richelieu’s mausoleum
Translate »
Scroll to Top