Paris - Ile De France Section
Assemblee Nationale - Palais Bourbon - Paris
Assemblee Nationale - Palais-Bourbon, the seat of the Parliament
The Assemblee Nationale is the French Parliament’s Lower House - Chamber of Deputies (the Senate is the Upper House).
Its origin goes back to the French Revolution.
The representatives of the Third Estate formed a revolutionary assembly.
The Assemblee Nationale Constituante ruled from June 17 to July 9, 1789. The Assemblée Législative - Legislative Assembly replaced it on Sept. 30, 1791.
Assemblee Nationale became the joint name given to the Senate and Chamber of Deputies from 1875 to 1940.
The constitution of the Fourth Republic (1946–58) renamed the Lower House (Chamber of Deputies) Assemblee Nationale.
The Upper House became known as Conseil de la République.
The Assemblee Nationale has retained its name since the beginning of the Fifth Republic (October, 4 1958).
Palais-Bourbon and Place du Palais-Bourbon
The Assemblee Nationale is also known as Palais Bourbon.
The Duchess of Bourbon, the daughter of Louis XIV and Madame de Montespan, commissioned Mansart with the design of the Palais-Bourbon.
The Italian architect Giardini, then Gabriel and Aubert were in charge of the construction that was completed in 1728.
In 1776, The Prince of Condé, the Duchess' grandson, entrusted Soufflot (the architect of the Pantheon) with the enlargement of the building and the opening of Place du Palais-Bourbon to facilitate access to the palace.
The identical Neoclassical mansions that frame the semicircular square owe their architectural unity to the fact that they were all built at the same time.
Hôtel de Lassay
In 1768, the Prince de Condé acquired the next door Hôtel de Lassay to extend his palace.
However, the mansion was declared national property at the French revolution, 21 years later.
It fortunately escaped demolition and was altered to accommodate the revolutionary assembly - Conseil des Cinq-Cents - Council of the Five Hundred until 1798.
Conversion of the Palais-Bourbon
The sober riverside facade dates from the early 19th century and matches the Madeleine Church.
Twelve Corinthian columns support the portico, which is accessed by a flight of steps.
A gallery was erected during the same period to link the Palais-Bourbon to the Hôtel de Lassay.
The Hôtel de Lassay was eventually returned to the Prince de Condé under the Bourbon Restoration.
The prince lived in the mansion, but bequeathed the Palais-Bourbon to the French State to accommodate the Assemblée Législative.
The State purchased the Hôtel de Lassay from his son in 1827.
Major reconstruction work was undertaken to adapt the building to its new purpose. The corridors and chambers we therefore re-laid out.
The new Chambers of Deputies was inaugurated in 1832. The gallery that links the Palais-Bourbon to the Hôtel de Lassay was reinforced and an additional floor added to the Palais-Bourbon.
The Hôtel de Lassay, since known as Petit Bourbon, became the official residence of the President of the Chamber of Deputies in 1843.
Furnishing the Assemble Nationale
The Assemblee Nationale regularly modernizes its decoration.
It also buys new art objects to complement and enrich an existing collection of 1200 pieces (925 paintings and 325 sculptures).
It has an annual budget of €100,000 to €150,000.
As any other major French republican institution, it can borrow furniture from the Mobilier National or the National Fund of Contemporary Art.
Directions: 7th District - No.128 Rue de l'Université
Metro: Assemblee Nationale on Line 12
Coordinates: Lat 48.862299 - Long 2.318813