An arch to commemorate the Battle of Austerlitz
Six of the monument’s low reliefs depict Napoleonic victories.
The eight pink granite Corinthian columns that adorn its two facades come from the Château of Meudon, which was demolished at the Revolution.
A statue of a soldier of the Napoleonic Empire, dressed in the uniform of his regiment, tops each column.
Finally, Bosio sculpted the four-horse chariot that stands on the roof of the arch.
Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel – Tuileries Palace’s entrance
The arch built by the architects Fontaine and Percier between 1806 and 1808 became the entrance to the Palais des Tuileries.
The architect Philibert Delorme started the construction of the palace in the 1560’s at the demand of Queen Catherine de Medici.
However, the building was only achieved in the 17th century; it linked the Pavillon de Flore to the Pavillon de Marsan in the Louvre.
The palace burned during the Commune de Paris in 1871; the ruins were demolished and the gardens extended on the site.
The Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel today acts as a symbolic entrance gate to the Tuileries Gardens.
Directions: 1st District
Metro: Tuileries, Concorde, Palais-Royal-Musée du Louvre on Line 1
Coordinates: Lat 48.861764 – Long 2.332846